Home
About
About Us
Ethos
Future Direction
Philosophy
History of Mount Temple
Policies & Procedures
Anti-Bullying
Child Protection
Code of Behaviour
Critical Incident Policy
Data Protection Policy
Covid 19 Policy Statement
Covid Response Plan (Updated March 2021)
Dignity at Work (Policy and Procedure)
Dress Code
ICT Acceptable Use Policy
Mobile Phones
Post of Responsibility Teacher Appeal Form
Privacy notice for pupils, parents and guardians.
School Trips
SEN (Special Educational Needs)
Substance Abuse
Teaching and Learning Policy
WellBeing Policy
People
Mount Temple School Student Support Team
Student Council
Board of Management
Sports Council
Past Pupils Association
Famous Past Pupils
Parents Association
What does the Parents Association do?
Rules of the Parents Association
Parents Association Members
Parents Association Newsletters
Parents Association Email Address
Admissions
Learning
Google Classroom (Information for Students)
2022-2023 Book Lists
Guidance
Junior Cycle/Certificate Subjects
Transition Year
Leaving Certificate Subjects
Leaving Certificate Applied
Subject Areas (Links)
New Junior Cycle
Learning Support
Library
VSware
Extra Curricular
Cultural
Eye of the Clock
Social
Christian Union
Amnesty International
Green Schools
LGBT Support Group (SPECTRUM)
Cyberbullying and Internet Safety
Rainbows
Educational
Mount Temple Sustainable Campus
TY Work Experience
Exchanges
All Ireland Linguistics Olympiad (AILO)
TY Musical [Link for tickets]
JC CBA Timetable 2022-23
Sports
Calendar
Gallery
download our app

History of Mount Temple

Mount Temple opened its doors as a co-educational Comprehensive school in 1972, and is proud of the histories of its predecessor schools.
Mountjoy School, a Protestant boarding school for boys. Mountjoy was previously located in Mountjoy square, and moved to the present location in 1947. It amalgamated in 1968, as part of larger processes of amalgamation among Protestant schools with…
The Hibernian Marine School, founded in 1776, catered for the schooling of orphans and children of seafaring men. The first meeting of the Board took place on the 6th June 1766 in the then Customs House (before James Gandon designed the current one). The building in which the meeting took place is on the site which now houses the Clarence Hotel. In 1904 the school moved to Seafield Road in Clontarf. Bertrand and Rutland School, itself an amalgamation of three girls schools, joined with the two above in 1972, to form Mount Temple.
Mount Temple is located around Mount Temple House, a building dating from 1863. The clock tower, designed by the architect of the campanile in Trinity College, is iconic of the school, and was immortalized in Christy Nolan’s novel “Under the Eye of the Clock”.
From the start, Mount Temple was informed by the spirit of is predecessor schools – and by values which included

a concern for the education of the whole student and the welfare of the individual;
a priority commitment to those excluded by society
a balance between academic and practical subjects;a liberal regime, and, seen in historical context, a very liberal regime.

If you would like to learn more about the History of Mount Temple follow this link.

If you would like to contribute time, photos, anecdotes to the developing history of Mount Temple please contact the office at office@mounttemple.ie.

Malahide Road, Clontarf, Dublin 3, Ireland. Email: info@mounttemple.ie | Telephone: +353-1-833-6984