download our app

Category: Sports News

Articles on Sports

Full list of medal winners at Leinster Athletics (bring total to 15 medals).

Stephen Cashin: Gold: Senior 5000m
Evan Lunney: Gold: Minor Discus 
Alex Toomey: Gold: Inter 200m
Naoise Smith-O’Carroll: Silver: Junior 200m 
Natalia Burtenshaw: Silver: Junior High Jump
Juliette Lawless-Dodeman: Silver: U16 Shot Putt
Jessica Afrakomaa: Silver: U16 Long Jump
Eabha De Rossa Murphy: Bronze: Minor Shot Putt
Inter Girls 100m:
Alex Toomey (Bronze)
Junior Boys 80m Hurdles:
Jack Maguire (Silver)
Scott McMullen (Bronze)
Minor Boys High Jump:
Isaac Judge (Gold)
Thomas Fallon (Bronze)
Junior Boys High Jump:
Naoise Smith O’Carroll (Gold)
Inter Boys High Jump:
Travis Delahoyde (Bronze)

Sports Awards 2018 (Full list of winners).

Following award are based on dedication
Badminton Girls Niamh Staines
Badminton Boys Christopher McLoughlin
Following awards are based on performance in Cricket TBD
1st Year Girl
1st Year Boy
Junior Girl
Junior Boy
Senior Girl
Senior Boy
Athletics Athlete of the Year Award
Junior Male Daragh Carter
Junior Female Alex Toomey
Senior Male Stephen Cashin
Valued Dedicated
Hockey (1st Yr ‘A’ Girls) Ella Noonan Molly Keating
Rugby (1st yr) Alastair Watt Aaron Duke
Basketball (1st yr) Alana Clerkin Alex Cashin
Hockey (1st Year ‘A’ boys) Dan Morley Luke Buckley
Hockey (1st yr ‘B’ Girls) Romy Flynn Ciara Smith
Hockey (1st yr ‘B’ Boys) Mark Collins James Byrne
Hockey (Minor ‘A’ Girls) Nora Porter Ella Carton
Basketball (2nd yr Girls) Lucina Ho Juliette Lawless Dodeman
Rugby (u 14) Mark Lawless Cathal McMahon
Hockey (Un 14 A Boys) Ben Wisdom Jack Maguire
Hockey (Jun A Girls) Mia Jacob Rowan Webb
Basketball (Cadette Girls) Emma Finnegan Isabelle Maguire
Rugby (JCT) Kevin George Adam Woolfson
Hockey (Junior ‘A’ Boys) Luke Abbott Conor Hall
Rugby (Girls) Aoife Brennan Xana Irigoien
Hockey (Junior B Girls) Katie Foley Ava Richardson
Football (Junior Girls) Lana McLoughlin Kustine Wariara
Hockey (Sen ‘A’ Girls) Becky McMullen Sophie Gibney
Basketball (Senior Girls) Jess Maguire Lea Clerkin
Hockey (Senior Boys) Sean Harper Adam Smith
Rugby (SCT) Coleman Toner Eoin Dillon
Basketball Head Awards
Jessica Maguire
Tyler Doyle Sutton
Leinster, Dublin and Irish Representation Awards
Dublin Representatives
Enya Kernan Camogie
Sean Patten Football
Naoise Smith O’Carroll Hurling
Elyse Jamieson-Murphy Camogie
Zara Awad Dublin
Darragh Coan Rugby
Dominick Damianov Rugby
Anthony Markov Rugby
Fionn Gilbert Rugby
Sean Harper Hockey
Jack Clarke Hockey
Isaac Fitzmaurice Swimming
Ireland/International Representatives
Eoin McCann Basketball;
Mark Duggan Hockey
Shane O’Brien Waterpolo
Iris Reddington Waterpolo
David Lawless Hockey
Fionn McCloskey Basketball
Ella McCloskey Basketball
Christina Coulter Reilly Cricket
Aoife Brennan Cricket
Cian Ince Taekwon – Do
1st Year Sofia Medcalf Oisin Cummins
2nd Year Ava Tynan Noaise Smith O’Carroll
3rd Year Christina Coulter Reilly Dominick Damianov
4th Year Moya Kernan Kevin Farrington
5th Year Martha Delaney Max Arnold
6th Year Enya Kernan Shane O’Brien
Presented By Gareth Borland

Jacqui Potter Memorial Shield

Winner: Aoife Brennan

Presentation of Mount Temple Hall of Fame Award
To Stephen Maher by Liam Wegimont
Presentation of overall S.P.O.Y. Cups by (2017/201) by Stephen Maher
The overall “Sports Person of the Year Award 2017/2018 goes to:

Overall Female

Overall Male

Emer Murphy

Fionn Gilbert

Mount Temple North Leinster Athletics (photos and medal winners).

We had a successful day at North Leinsters yesterday, coming away with 7 medals. Please see list of winners and notable performances below. If you see any of the students in school, please congratulate them. We are back in action again on Friday. Final list of students involved to follow.
Inter Girls 100m:
Alex Toomey (Bronze)
Junior Boys 80m Hurdles:
Jack Maguire (Silver)
Scott McMullen (Bronze)
Minor Boys High Jump:
Isaac Judge (Gold)
Thomas Fallon (Bronze)
Junior Boys High Jump:
Naoise Smith O’Carroll (Gold)
Inter Boys High Jump:
Travis Delahoyde (Bronze)
Other notable performances;
4th place in…
U16 mile: Daragh Carter
1500m Senior Boys: Stephen Cashin
100m Junior Boys: Adam Galligan
U16 Boys Shot: Eoin Cragg
Junior Boys Shot: Mark Lawless
Thanks for your cooperation and a big thanks to Chris O’Donnell for accompanying us yesterday.
Ms. Ryan

Mount Temple 5-a-side Hockey Team – Hosts & Winners

Hosts Mount Temple took the laurels from the from a five-team individual tournament held on the Malahide Road, prevailing on goal difference after an epic final game against St Columba’s 3-1.
Columba’s deservedly took the lead after a few minutes when nice play down the right result in a tap in at the back post. Emer Murphy, who went on to win the player of tournament award tied it up from a corner routine half way through the game.
In an end to end match, Temple went 2-1 when Jess Maguire converted. Columba’s then had three corners in quick succession, going inches wide from one effort and saw another saved off the line by Sophie Gibney.
Temple though went 3-1 up Enya Kernan slotted home after robbing the Columba’s right back. Columba’s never gave up but could not add to there tally despite finishing strongly.
Before the finale, the hosts started by brightly dispatching St Andrews 4-0 and Wesley 7-0 before losing to a determined Loreto Bray 2-1.
Mount Temple Indoor invitational: Mount Temple 4 St Andrew’s 0; St Columba’s 2 Loreto Bray 1; Mount Temple 7 Wesley 0; St Andrew’s 1 St Columba’s 4; Wesley 0 Loreto Bray 4; Mount Temple 1 Loreto Bray 2; St Andrews 1 Wesley 0; Loreto Bray 0 St Andrews 1; Wesley 0 St Columbas 7; Mount Temple 3 St Columbas 1
Standings: 1. Mount Temple 9pts (+12) 2. St Columbas 9pts (+9) 3. Loreto Bray 6pts (+3) 4. St Andews 6pts (-5) 5. Wesley 0pts (-19)
Kenny Carroll presents Emer Murphy with the player of the tournament awards.

Mount Temple Senior Rugby

The senior boys rugby team have been promoted up to the Section B cup this season. They will be back playing in the Vinny Murray Cup for the first time in many years and the competition will kick off with a match against High School in Donnybrook stadium on Thursday the 11th of January at 2PM. 
Supporters will be out in force with over 200 students in rehearsals today practising their songs/chants.  As a result there will be no classes for TYs and 5th years on Thursday afternoon. 

Sports News: Leinster Schools Swimming Championships.

On Sunday 22nd October, 6 students from Mount Temple participated in the Leinster Schools Swimming Championships. The swimmers were: Owen Langley, 2nd year,  Shane O’Brien, 6th Year  Isaac Fitzmaurice, Christian Corrigan and Iollan Mc Keon, all 5th Year.

Isaac came 2nd in the 100m Boys 100m Freestyle age 17-19, 3rd in the Boys 100m IM age 17-19 and 4th in the 400M Freestyle in the same age group. A school relay team consisting of Isaac, Shane Christian and Iollann finished 3rd in the 4 X 50m Freestyle relay.  Isaac and the relay team have qualified for the All Irelands.  All of the lads had super swims, the competition was fierce.  Well done to all them all.  

3 Mount Temple pupils on Leinster U-18 Hockey Inter-Provincials!

Mount Temple will have it’s largest ever representation at the U-18 Hockey Inter -provincials this weekend. 
Sean Harper – 6th Year, David Lawless – 5th Year and Mark Duggan – 5th Year, will all pull on the blue jersey of Leinster, with the tournament taking place in Three Rock Rovers hockey club in Marley Park, Dublin, commencing on Friday. 
Below is a link to the tournament schedule. 
We wish the boys the best of luck for the weekend. 

Malahide Road, Clontarf, Dublin 3, Ireland. Email: | Telephone: +353-1-833-6984